jump to navigation

Fried November 29, 2007

Posted by tuimeltje in dinner.
Tags: ,
trackback

Yesterday I thought I’d use some veg than had been lying around for a while. It was pretty now-or-never on the broccoli, and the carrots had spent a good few weeks in the vegetable drawer already and had gotten all wrinkly.
I fried them (steamed the broccoli first), along with an onion, a leek, some tomatoes, some edamame, a few of those Turkish pickled peppers, and some spices, to make me a nice bit of dinner.
Normally I simply eat my veg like that, but this time I thought I’d eat it with some millet. I bought a packet some time ago but rarely use it. It’s easy to prepare, though, and quite tasty.
Overall the meal was nice, but a bit bland. I should probably use more spices next time.

Dinner

Since I was going with the stuff that had been laying around for a while, I decided to also eat the dragon fruit (which grew on an epiphytic cactus. Isn’t that cool?) I bought at the Chinese supermarket when I went there last week. They look all pretty and pink (or fuchsia, whatever), which always makes me want one, but they don’t really taste like much at all.
They normally look nicer, more fuchsia and bright green rather than fuchsia and mangy wilted brown bits, but I don’t think it makes much of a difference taste-wise.

Dragon fruitDragon fruit

All in all it was a pretty bland evening, food-wise. Not bad, but not great, either.

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - November 29, 2007

Mmm, your fried-vegetable dish with millet sounds quite scrumptious! I’ve never had dragon fruit before… it looks intriguing, for sure. Doesn’t sound like a bland evening to me – sounds rather tasty! :0)

2. tuimeltje - November 29, 2007

It looks very nice and colourful, but somehow didn’t have much taste…

3. Bonnie - November 29, 2007

Yum! I’m kind of hungry… that piece of fruit looks so pretty! Looking at the colour you’d expect it to have a special taste as well… but it’s still cool, and I love the name ‘dragon fruit’. Did you eat it just like that?

4. tuimeltje - November 29, 2007

I’m hungry, too. Time for a snack. :)
It’s even prettier when it’s fresh, when the green bits are still actually green. I just cut it in half and ate it, though cutting it into quarters would’ve been easier. Perhaps there’s a special way to eat it to make it tastier, I don’t know.


Leave a Reply

