jump to navigation

Soup & Tempeh April 2, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in dinner.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Yesterday I made two dishes using these ingredients:
Green

During my last stop at the Chinese supermarket I couldn’t resist picking up something labeled “green turnips”. They were green and only about €0.55. Would you be able too resist that?
Since, to me, actual knowledge about preparing something isn’t necessarily required before buying it (see also: fermented vegetables) , I wasn’t too phased by not ever having seen those things before.

A google search using those terms got me a bunch of nice but useless of recipes for turnip greens, so after opening the bag and noticing they smelled like radish, I changed the search terms from “green turnip” to “green radish”, which actually got me some useful results. It seems to be a thing often eaten raw, but I had already decided I wanted me some soup, so I thought I’d go right ahead and be contrary.

The soup was basically the two peeled green radishes, the two carrots in the picture along with an older and mangier-looking one I found in the fridge, some shoyu, some dried basil, and some boullion powder. I think. I don’t remember adding anything else. I had intended to chuck in some garlic, but I completely forgot about that. ETA: I just remembered I also added some of the aduki beans I’d frozen earlier.
It got pureed, of course, and ended up a colour that made me think I pureed some frog-containing pond water. It tasted pretty good, though. Surprisingly un-radish-like, too.
I thawed the oatly creamy stuff and added some of it, which was nice. That stuff seems to freeze well enough, which is convenient seeing as I’ll probably rarely use a whole carton in less than a week. It looked a little seperated when I poured a tiny bit on my finger, but it tasted just fine.

The other dish I prepared pretty much at the same time. It’s a very easy tempeh and green leafy veg dish. I only recently started using tempeh. I tried it once, several years ago, but it tasted pretty foul so I didn’t bother with it after that one bad experience.
However, after seeing other people use it with ease, I decided to give it a second chance.
I’m very glad I did!
It’s quite easy to prepare and very tasty. My recent experiences with it have been so different from the first one I suspect the tempeh I used back then was a bit off.
I think I’ll be using tempeh much more in future.

For this dish I cut up the tempeh, poured on some tomato ketchup, harissa, and a few drops of liquid smoke. I let it stand for a short while because I was too impatient to let it marinade properly, and then I fried it for a bit. After a minute or so I chucked in small batches of spinach leaves. After I felt I’d put in enough spinach, I chopped up a tomato and put that in as well. I may have poured some shoyu over it, but I’m not 100% sure. I use that stuff on damn near everything, so I’m not that conscious of it.

I made a similar dish earlier, but using choi sam instead of the spinach. Choi sam some other leafy green thing which I suspect is somehow related to pak choi, though Google searches don’t give me much more than some cook. There’s a picture on this page, though.
Guess where I found the stuff?

(ETA: Googling “choi sum” and “Chinese flowering cabbage” got me some interesting results)

Result:
Soup and tempeh stuff

This one was taken before adding the oatly. It doesn’t look that froggy in the picture as it did in real life…

I wonder if I should put dishes like this in the recipe category. I do list all the ingredients I can remember, even if there’s rarely any mention of quantity, at least in any SI/metric sense, and I more-or-less mention what I did to go from ingredients to meal, but somehow it doesn’t feel like a proper recipe post.
Any thoughts?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

