jump to navigation

Sidebar April 26, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in administrative.
trackback

As much as I love this theme, the sidebar is a little on the long side. This is mostly due to the category widget, though I did create a links post, now visible on top, to at least do away with the widget for that.

Maybe I’ll just sort out the whole tags/categories thing and make it a bit neater. A few very broad categories and a ton of tags.

ETA: I just realised that there’s no need for a “recent posts” thing, seeing as all recent posts are on the front page. And if I cut the top posts from 10 to 5, I’ll save some more vertical space. Whoo!

ETA2: Of course, a tag cloud takes up some space…
Drat!
Can’t I put those on a page, or something?

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - April 27, 2008

looks like a good sidebar/layout to me!

2. tuimeltje - April 27, 2008

Thanks. :)

It’s neater now that I have the categories sorted out. I’m starting to suspect I don’t really care that much about how the categories and tag bits look. Instead, I think I kind of care about people noticing my del.icio.us links, which are being all timid way down there. MAybe I should get them their own page. :p

3. Bonnie - April 27, 2008

I have no idea. I still have to reorganize my sidebar but I am once again too LAZY to do that. Anyway, hope you get it to look the way you want it to :)

4. tuimeltje - April 28, 2008

:) I like the way it is now, with broad categories and more specific tags, but it’s still kind of long.
del.icio.us has this nifty linkroll thing you can copy/paste somewhere, but WordPress doesn’t like it and only displays the link, not the linkroll like you get in the widget.
I’m thinking I might be able to make a tag page. Clicking on the category links got me blog entries from all over, not just my blog, but it might be different for tags.
Still, that’s a project for another day. :)

I suppose I could go for something with three columns, but then the text column would get a little narrow. Besides, I like this one.


Leave a Reply

