jump to navigation

Rice, Meet Beans May 1, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in dinner, snack.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

My boyfriend is staying with me at the moment. As he’s a big fan of rice and beans and I’m rather into easy foods, the first meal we cooked for ourselves was, well, rice and beans.
Something more orange would’ve suited the day better, but I was too lazy to make something with that pumpkin I have laying around.

Ingredients:
ingredients

Guess which supermarket was open on Koninginnedag?

All I did was cook the rice according to the instructions and chuck the rest of the ingredients in the pan. After mixing it up properly and letting things get to the appropriate temperature, we ate it.

Rice and Beans:
rice beans

Though we both enjoy the basics of this dish, I generally prefer to add some things while my boyfriend thinks anything beyond rice, baked beans, sweet corn, peas, and tomato ketchup is unnecessary and diminishes his enjoyment of the dish.
He didn’t mind me adding some cubes of kale, but didn’t want any of the spices. Lucky for me it’s easy to add some random spice mixes and some harissa to the food on my plate, or it would’ve been rather bland to me.

~-*-~

One of the reasons my boyfriend is visiting at the moment is to attend the wedding of a friend of mine.
We had a great time, and my friend, who is a vegetarian herself and most thoughtful, had made sure there was plenty of vegan food available.
Even one of the cakes was vegan!
And it was a tasty one, too. I don’t know the exact ingredients, but pineapple was very present.
All of the other people, most of whom were omnis, were very cool about veganism as well. Sometimes people can get a little defensive when you merely mention you’re vegan, but not the people at this wedding.

Since there was a lot of left-over food and since my friend and her new husband were leaving for their honeymoon the next day, everyone got to take some food home.
We got to take home the cake (already eaten and very much enjoyed) and some of the brightly coloured coconutty balls. I’m sure she told me what they were called, but I can’t remember it. They’re way tasty, though.

Picture:
colourful balls

Comments»

1. Bonnie - May 2, 2008

That’s so great that there was a vegan cake at the wedding! Those coconutty balls look interesting as well.

The beans & rice dish looks tasty and easy to prepare. I think I would like to add some spices to at too, though. And kale! I like kale. I don’t eat it as often as I should, but I like it.

2. tuimeltje - May 2, 2008

:) I know. She’s very sweet.

Same here. That’s why I’m looking for random ways of adding some kale (or other leafy greens) to my dishes.


Leave a Reply

