jump to navigation

Aubergine May 19, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in dinner.
Tags: ,
trackback

So these were the vegetables I had other plans for. Admittedly, I didn’t actually do with them what I’d planned.
The original plan was some kind of garlic-y fried aubergine salad with chopped tomato and bell pepper, but that one required the aubergine laying around at room temperature for about an hour before eating, and I don’t tend to think ahead much.
Also, I’m not particularly fond of aubergines and don’t really know what to do with them. While I asked around for a bit and got told about the basics for the salad (the tomato and bell pepper would’ve been my own additions), I only remembered half of the instructions and only had half the ingredients available.

Since I still had the leftover beans from the soup on my mind, I thought I’d make me some chili instead. I don’t remember ever hearing about anyone eating anything chili-like with aubergines, but that doesn’t matter.

I thought I still had a jar of brown beans left, but I must’ve eaten those already. Can’t remember when, but whatever. Luckily I still had a tin of broad beans, because the amount of black beans I had left wouldn’t have made much chili.

Ingredients:
ingredients

I cut the aubergine into strips and fried them with the cut-up leek and a huge clove of garlic (two down, two more to go). After a short while I added the cut-up bell pepper, then the tomato, the beans, and a bunch of random spices. Some chicken spice mix, fenugreek, cinnamon, turmeric, and pepper. Possibly nutmeg as well, but I’m not sure.
Nothing I particularly associate with chili, though the chicken spice mix may have contained some cumin.
After adding the spices I added some passata to make it more tomato-y.
Usually I add a jar of sweet corn to my chili, but I didn’t really feel like that today.

Food:
food

The end result was tasty and satisfying, though the aubergine strips very rather tough and chewy. Which was actually kind of nice in this dish, which was otherwise rather mushy, but it probably means I was doing it wrong somewhere.
Still, what I normally don’t really like about aubergine is the weird texture, and though this rubbery stuff wasn’t optimal, it was good. It didn’t have that odd flavour I don’t care for, either.
I was a little worried about the fenugreek, since I chucked in rather a lot (accident. Container kind of slipped), but it doesn’t seemed to have had any kind of negative impact on the flavour.
All-in-all it ended up being a tasty, easy, one-pot meal where I actually quite enjoyed the aubergine. Yay!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - May 19, 2008

The end result of your meal looks perfect to me!

2. tuimeltje - May 21, 2008

Thanks! It was a pleasant surprise to enjoy the aubergine this much.


Leave a Reply

