jump to navigation

Festival May 25, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in snack.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Today we had the Dunya festival (Dutch site) here in Rotterdam, a free festival with lots of world music. Mostly by artists I’ve not heard of before and will likely not hear much from again (though I do intend to remember Daby Touré), but that doesn’t mean it’s not good fun.

While I generally feel food at festivals is somewhat overpriced (but then I generally think that of prepared food), there is generally at least some vegan stuff on offer here and I usually end up buying some snacks even though you usually spent a lot more time waiting for your turn than actually eating the food.

This year’s loot:

Churros:
churros

Bara:
bara

Churros is a Spanish snack. Basically it’s fried dough with something sweet (sugar, cinnamon sugar, some kind of syrup) or possibly savoury on it. I’ve had them before, since I find random vegan snacks hard to resist at times, but I’m always vaguely disappointed. It’s nice enough, I suppose, but I don’t really have that much of a sweet tooth and after eating one or two bits, it simply becomes more bland sugary food. Which I figured out pretty quickly, but I still occasionally cave when I see a churros stand.

The bara was much more enjoyable, though. It’s a savoury snack from Suriname, also fried. And the ones you get here are properly fresh and crispy, not that soggy, dense microwaved nonsense you get at some surifood places.
Next time I see a churros stand, I’ll promise myself two baras if I can walk past it. One bag of churros is almost the same price of two baras, anyway.

As it was a free festival with a fair bit of sponsoring and ideological and governmental stands trying to educate the public about a whole bunch of very important issues, there were some people handing out free stuff and asking the public to sign petitions. I avoided the petitions (unless they specifically tell me what they intend to do with them, they always seem like a waste of paper to me) and most of the pointless freebies, but still managed to get me a zip-loc baggie containing condoms, safe sex booklets, and a lollipop from the nice people at the local GGD stand and a bag with posters from a nice woman from a local anti-discrimination foundation. (Dutch site)
Now I just have to find places to hang the posters…

For some more good news, the leak in my SIGG bottle seems to have fixed itself after all. I have no idea why it took so much longer this time, but I’m very happy about it.

ETA: Because I really did like Daby Touré, I figured I might as well share some.

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - May 26, 2008

What a great festival!

2. tuimeltje - May 26, 2008

It is. Lots of fun to just walk around and catch bits of different shows.


Leave a Reply

