jump to navigation

Not-Carob May 27, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in breakfast.
Tags:
trackback

Since I still occasionally think of that carob-banana smoothie, I thought I’d prepare me some sort of approximation of it since I still don’t actually have the proper ingredients.
However, I now have spirulina (tablets, not powder, but they’re no match for my trusty immersion blender), and if carob subs for cocoa, cocoa can sub for carob.

Ingredients:
smoothie ingredients

This is the first time I added some kind of sweetener to a smoothie. I think I also put some good old flax seeds in it, but forgot to put them in the picture.

Smoothie:
smoothie

At first the colour was a little greenish, so I added some more cocoa. It still had this slight spirulina taste, but that’s okay. The chocolate flavour wasn’t as strong as I’d hoped, but it was still pretty damn good.
I still want to try me that carob one, though.

With all this smoothie talk, I’ve been wondering. When do you go from smoothie to shake? I’m not 100% sure, but it is possible I may have actually had an official MacDonalds milkshake at some point, way back when I still occasionally ate there. And what I have here? That’s the kind of thing I tend to see as a milkshake. Of course, McDo’s only had the chocolate, strawberry, and vanilla option, and anything not very, very fruity kind of feels more like that than a smoothie, but still. I’m so confused.

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - May 27, 2008

I consider smoothies to have a thinner consistency than shakes (i.e. shakes require a big straw and/or spoon to drink/eat, haha).

2. tuimeltje - May 27, 2008

That’s a good one! I have a vague suspicion it’s to do with “milky-ness”, possibly even having ice cream as an ingredient, but both seem to be used more-or-less interchangeably.


Leave a Reply

