jump to navigation

Two Other Things May 28, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in current weirdness.
Tags:
trackback

Again two things.

One, my SIGG bottle seems to have reverted to it’s leaky state again, which is confusing. If I have it closed and suck out some water from the leak (yes, it’s possible. And weird. But possible. Yet weird. And kind of icky), it won’t leak while in my bag, but as soon as I open it up again the leakiness starts again.
And this time it seems to actually flow, when before, it was just this one slow drop.

I think I have a vague grasp of the basic physics behind the sometimes-leakiness, so that bit doesn’t surprise me too much, but I still don’t get why it goes from leaky to not leaky to (more selectively) leaky again.
Looks like it’s really time to get me a new one, though…

Two, I have that “Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)” feature going, which seems like a nice way of stumbling across similar and possibly interesting posts.
However, the few posts I checked were either not at all related, like the Holocaust train one mentioned below, or only sort of related but not particularly interesting (though to be fair, I only clicked, like, five of them). Those kind of related ones were usually not actually any kind of similar to my post. Just a vaguely similar basic topic (smoothie, festival, vegetables) that make it so I can at least sort of get where it’s coming from with the automated generation but still don’t make it actually related.

Also, it only seems to work half the time. The post about me visiting my grandparents had a post about some Holocaust train reaching Auschwitz as a possibly related post (Yeah, I’m still confused what made the automated generator give me that, though at least after actually reading it the post’s title no longer confuses me about the times we’re living in. The only connection I can think of is that park where I hung out. Some Jews spent part of the war there and it had some monument about that. I’m pretty sure I made no mention of that in my post, though. Anyway), but when I click on that post now, I only get that link about half the time.
Strange…

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - May 28, 2008

Ahh, sorry about your SIGG water bottle :0(

Haha yes, the automatically generated posts are quite random sometimes :0D

2. tuimeltje - May 28, 2008

Thanks. It’s all terribly tragic. :(

You get them, too?

3. Bonnie - May 30, 2008

The possibly related posts confused me, too, but I immediately removed them so I never actually looked at the suggested posts. Doesn’t sound like this feature is very useful…

4. tuimeltje - May 30, 2008

Mostly not, but I did find out about The Joyful Vegan, a blog where Colleen Patrick-Goudreau (from the Compassionate Cooks podcast) post stories from vegans through it, so it’s not a complete loss.


Leave a Reply

