jump to navigation

How Very May 29, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in breakfast.
Tags:
trackback

In an unprecedented fit of Being Prepared (don’t expect one again soon), I thought I might just make me a breakfast smoothie the night before.

When stopping by the supermarket after work, I noticed the cherries were marked down, and thought they’d make for a nice smoothie. Since they didn’t look like they’d last that long, I figured I’d best make that smoothie on the day of purchase. While I’m not strict about keeping breakfast foods specifically for breakfast, or even labelling certain foods as strictly “breakfast”, “lunch”, “dinner”, or “snack”, I thought the smoothie would make a better breakfast than desert/random snack.
Besides, I wasn’t particularly peckish.

Anyway, here are the ingredients:
smoothie stuff

Because cherries are so nice and red, I thought I’d better not muck that up by chucking in some spirulina tablets. I also made sure to not use too much soymilk. I did sprinkle in the probiotic powder, though.

Just after blending:
Pink!

It turned a very nice pink, darker than the smoothies I make using berries.

Here’s what it looked like in the morning:
with layer

Like the previous time I used probiotic powder, the smoothie acquired a thick bubbly layer, which you can see in the picture. No pancake batter-smell, though. It didn’t taste as cherry-ish as I’d hoped and some of the pink prettiness had gone, but it was still a good smoothie. And preparing breakfast the day before is really quite convenient…
Next time I might try something cherry without the white powder, though.

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - May 29, 2008

Looks like a wonderful smoothie!! Way to be prepared :0)

2. tuimeltje - May 29, 2008

:) It is. I should do it more often.

You’re always so quick to comment! Amazing, that. :)


Leave a Reply

