jump to navigation

Now June 8, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in administrative, food.
Tags: ,
trackback

A while back I mentioned having some vague plans about going gluten-free for a short period of time in the near future.
Well, the future is now.
Starting today, I am going to try and avoid gluten for at least a week, probably two.

I’m still somewhat confused about oatmeal and I’m not sure the foods that don’t, according to the ingredient lists, contain anything gluten-y, are truly free of gluten (feel free to educate me), but for my purposes this isn’t hugely important as I’m trying to avoid most of it, with avoiding all traces being a nice bonus.
Just so you know that any food eaten during this experiment might not actually be truly gluten-free and therefore suitable for coeliacs.

So far most of the information I have came from Frugal Abundance and Gluten-Free Vegan, which is making me think it’s really not as tricky as it seems. Apart from that, I very much intent to try the stretchy bean thing. In fact, I already have some soaked chickpeas that are just waiting to be cooked and turned into hummus.

It’s all making me want to make yummy foods and I’m quite curious if avoiding gluten will make any noticeable difference to my general well-being.

I’m not sure what I’ll do about posting, but I’ll probably at least try a daily food log. No guarantees I’ll stick with it, though.

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - June 8, 2008

Good luck with your gluten-free diet!

2. tuimeltje - June 8, 2008

Thanks. :)


Leave a Reply

