jump to navigation

Not Orange (Close, Though) June 9, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in current weirdness, dinner, food.
Tags: ,
trackback

Because the first two times my basic pantry soup was somewhat watery, I thought I’d try and improve it some more.

Stuff used:
used

Guess what I did with it?

Stuff I ended up with:
again

For this soup, compared to the previous ones, the main addition was the passata. I don’t know how much I used exactly I just used whatever I had left from a while back. Half a package, maybe? I’d frozen some a few weeks ago and took it out of the freezer a few days ago to thaw. It seems to have survived this well enough.
Adding this made the soup a good deal tastier, so I’ll definitely remember it for next time.

The noisy people in this area make me feel I should’ve maybe played with the pumpkin instead to create some appropriately-coloured food seeing as I’ve utterly neglected my patriottic decorating-duties.
I think I know tomorrow’s main topic at work…

Comments»

1. Bonnie - June 9, 2008

I’m with you in neglecting patriottic decorating-duties! I almost just kind of forgot about soccer. ummm.

But your soup looks delicious, I love tomato paste in soup. I always forget how good that is, too. Actually, I should make soup more often…

2. tuimeltje - June 10, 2008

Heh. Good to know I’m not the only one. I was vaguely aware of the whole footie thing going on about now, and the way people at the high street and supermarket yesterday, wearing entirely too much orange and buying lots of beer, had me thinking something relevant would happen soonish.

Do it!
Adding the passata on top of that tiny tin of concentrate is really good. It gives it a much richer taste, not that watered-down thing.
Kind of weird I’d not thought of it before, really.


Leave a Reply

