jump to navigation

GF Log – Day 13 June 20, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in food.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Gluten-free food log, day 13

Last day!
Tomorrow, I’ll gave Oreos. The floating Chinese supermarket was selling the U.S. whey-less version. Yay! Incredibly overpackaged, though. Even more so than those usual snack packs. I wonder if this is that silly pre-packed 100 calorie portion thing that seemed all the rage in the U.S. last Summer.

Breakfast

  • A swig of flaxseed oil.
  • A good bit of water melon.
  • Lunch

  • Work veg.
  • Dinner

  • Potato balls.
    Normally I have these with some kind of sauce. Tomato ketchup or the like. Unfortunately, both my tomato ketchup and curry gewürz contain some mystery modified starch. The picalilli was kind enough to actually list gluten as an allergen, so that left just mustard. Which wasn’t actually that bad. I like mustard with my potato-y things. It’s my standard condiment at chip shops since it’s pretty much always vegan. It’s also one for which you generally don’t have to pay extra.
    Normally I also enjoy some actual veg with my potato-y things, but with me needing to catch a train, I felt in too much of a hurry to make something even though I technically had over an hour.
  • Snacks

  • Soy Wonders Hot & Spicy. Neither hot nor spicy. Not actually exhibiting any kind of flavour at all, really. And the promised omega-3 is in the shape of whole flaxseeds. The sort that doesn’t really digest to the point where your body actually gets those omega-3s. Yeah, that’s useful.
  • A small container of blueberry Yofu.
  • Advertisements

    Comments»

    1. Bonnie - June 20, 2008

    Oreos! they’re supposed to be very addicting… they sold them at my school, but those were the ones with whey. Too bad about the packaging, though.

    2. tuimeltje - June 22, 2008

    Yeah, possibly. Will see.
    They used to be pretty hard to get here up until recently, but when they started selling them, it was the European version with whey in it.

    You know the really sucky thing, though? I accidentally ended up buying the version with lactose on it. There was a regular and a lightly sweet version, and since I’m generally don’t have as much of a sweet tooth as the average American, I figured I’d get the less sweet version, which also had slightly less saturated fat (and fewer calories, but the difference was so marginal that it really can’t be called a light version of Oreos).
    Turns out that one isn’t quite as vegan as the regular one, so I’ll have to go back for the regular version if I want Oreos. *sigh* Maybe my siblings will enjoy them…

    3. Bonnie - June 25, 2008

    Oh, that’s too bad! Oh well, at least you know where you can get them now. Ha, light Oreos…

    4. tuimeltje - June 25, 2008

    I know! And they’re not actually light like the package implies. I took the non-vegan package to my parents when I went there last weekend and stuck a piece of paper with “Eat Me” on it. It was gone the next day, so I think they got it.

    Got myself the vegan ones, and now I’m thinking of what to do with them. The Dutch forum once mentioned some cake involving them, so now my brain is going weird at the thought of that.


    Leave a Reply

