jump to navigation

No Grape July 1, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in dinner.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Another soup. Pumpkin, two small onions, two wrinkly, sprouty carrots, a bunch of black-eyed peas (easy protein), and two sweet potatoes. I think they were, at least. One was properly pink inside, like the ones I’m used to, but the other one, the one I got at a toko while looking for grape jam*, while similar-looking on the outside, saw fit to be an entirely different colour under the skin. As such things confuse me, I’m no longer sure they were supposed to be the same thing.
Not that it matters much in the end, I used them the same way. Cook until soft and sic my immersion blender at them.
Food like this makes me happy I chose to buy that 5l pan recently. There’s no way I could’ve comfortable fit all of this in my small pan.

Soup:
soup

I call it soup, but most people might not, the way it’s that thick. I added some water later on which made it more soup-like but still pretty thick and satisfying. I had it with some bread, but it’s perfectly good without if you want to avoid gluten.

And now for something completely different.

I’ve been going through my cupboard for a bit recently and decided that maybe it’s time for another pantry project. I have managed to aquire a good bit of food I simply don’t use and I still don’t have anything even approaching a meal plan, so it wouldn’t be a bad idea to do this again.
With some slight modifications, perhaps.
A little less strict, with me being allowed to buy some basic fruit and/or veg things necessary to make something decent out of what I already have, but still eating in a way that somehow uses food I already have rather than newly bought stuff.

This’ll probably mean eating a lot of noodly pasta things, since I have this tendency to buy that occasionally and to not eat it, but I can live with that.
And beans. I get entirely too excited about finding some cool dried beans and buy them only to be too lazy to properly soak and cook them for actual use.

Not sure when I’ll start exactly, probably later this week, perhaps next week.

*For no identifiable reason, I suddenly found myself having this bizzare craving for grape jam, something I don’t remember actually ever even eating. I’m blaming Americans for this, with their PB&J, considering the grape variety a tradtional one for the J (is this actually true? I learn this stuff by cultural osmosis, so it might be somewhat inaccurate). Around here few people seem to even know it exists, and I’ve been scowering tokos for the stuff with no luck.
No luck finding pinto beans, either. Rosecoco beans, yes, but no pintos. I should see if there’s a South American-specific toko somewhere…

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 1, 2008

Hooray for pantry projects!!

Strawberry jam is actually the traditional flavor for the American classic PBJ – grape jam is considered almost “exotic,” haha :0)

2. tuimeltje - July 2, 2008

Really? Huh. Then where did I get the idea that it was grape? Hm…

Strawberry jam and pb is a great combination, though personally I generally prefer using a darker jam.


Leave a Reply

