jump to navigation

Your Mama’s Appropriated Bami July 2, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in dinner, food.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Some time ago, I didn’t make bami goreng.

Yesterday I thought I should make it properly, have bami the way I know it. Proper pre-cut veg, the spice mix, the nest-y mie, condiments, every convenient thing. And seitan. That’s technically new, but that’s okay.
Everything except the ham sub. Microwaveable ready-bami usually has these icky little pink ham bits, but I can’t be bothered to buy some overpriced underflavoured vegan deli slices for tradition’s sake.
The way I know it is the way I’ve always made it, and since I didn’t cook for myself much until I went vegan, the way I know it is the vegan way.

While Conimex is technically part of Unilever and I therefore have the general tendency to avoid it whenever I feel like it’ll make any kind of difference (to be honest, most of the time I don’t bother with it because it’s generally overpriced and over-processed stuff for which I have no need, habit and practicality rather than any high ethics), I am quite charmed with that most handy list of vegan products on their site, which is listed above the list of vegetarian products in the FAQ (yes, this sort of thing makes me happy). I don’t actually use it much, due to laziness combined with that general tendency to avoid it whenever I feel it’ll make any kind of difference, but it is handy.
Actually, I think the only time I ever used it was to figure out whether the spice mix for today’s not-particularly-exotic exotic food was vegan.
And to be honest, it’s not quite the spice mix as I knew it. I’m used to the stuff that needs dissolving in hot water, but this mix didn’t need any of that. It also started writing bami with an h in it, something that looks rather archaic to me and I simply refuse to play along.
A bit confusing, all that, but it worked out okay and tasted pretty much like the stuff I’m used to.

Anyway.

Ingredients:
ingredients

The seitan isn’t on this picture, I didn’t think of adding that until after I’d taken it.

Food:
bami

The brown stuff is satay sauce, the yellow and orange stuff the atjar tjampoer, and the little red dollop is sambal oelek. There’s also a St. Andrew’s Cross of ketjap manis that’s barely visible. With the sambal and the pepper, I’d really expected it to be spicier. Still good, though. Comfortable old-fashioned food.

Because I can’t leave things well enough alone, I decided to mess with the leftovers for a bit by adding some of those enoki mushrooms I bought for this other thing I must still make (will post it later). I also added some fried onions I forgot about yesterday and just sprinkled on the satay sauce powder rather than go through the immense trouble of mixing it up with a little bit of warm water like I did yesterday.

Interesting and relevant link for today: Confusion Cooking. A Dutch (apologies. It’s the short version of a paper with an English title and therefore possibly English text, but I’ve not been able to find it) article about the history of the popular Chinese restaurants here and how the food we consider authentically exotic isn’t actually as authentically exotic as we believe.
Now I’m not sure how to tag this anymore. I think I’ll just go with Indonesian, seeing as that’s the way this stuff is advertised and I’ve always learned it. No need to let new knowledge mess things up, now is there? I’m also wondering whether using the pasta tag here is a good idea. I would like a nice tag that covers all noodly things, so I might just alter the old posts or something. Whatever. I’ll see.

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 2, 2008

I’m never had bami before… sounds enticing!!

2. tuimeltje - July 2, 2008

It’s good stuff. And pretty easy to make, too. If you have the spice mix, at least…
It should be possible to mix up the spices yourself, but I’ve never attempted that. The pre-prepared veg is easy enough to make from scratch, though.


Leave a Reply

