jump to navigation

Baba July 11, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in snack.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Pictureless post, but I wanted to share this food anyway since it’s from my to do list. A while back I was wondering what to do with some aubergines I had left, and Bonnie found me a baba ganoush recipe (Dutch) that didn’t require an oven. It did require a gas stove, something I don’t currently have easy access to either, but I figured I could just use a candle. A flame is a flame, right?
As those aubergines had gone slightly off and probably wouldn’t be suited to such treatment anymore, I thought I’d just wait until I had another aubergine, which was this week. Yay!

According to the recipe, the aubergine was supposed to get all charred and soft. While bits got charred, most of it just got sooty (you should’ve seen my hands!). After a good while over that candle, it got nice and soft anyway, so I figured that particular bit didn’t really matter so much. In either case you have to take off the skin.

Once I had taken off all the skin, I blended it with some soy yoghurt, tahin, ground cumin, soy sauce, and lemon juice. I forgot to add the garlic, but it’s actually quite nice without.
I may have used more yoghurt than the recipe called for, and I used only one aubergine instead of three, but I think it turned out quite well. It has a rather soft flavour, but still slightly tangy

I’ve not eaten much of it yet, just a little bit on a green salad yesterday, as a kind of dressing. As I don’t have any pita bread around, I think I might just eat it like that, or maybe as a dip for carrots. I froze some, but I’m not sure that’ll work out well. We’ll see. No harm in trying, right?

ETA: It goes well with carrots and freezes okay. It gets a little watery but still tastes good, if somewhat strong on the cumin.

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 11, 2008

Definitely no harm in trying!

2. tuimeltje - July 12, 2008

Indeed.


Leave a Reply

