jump to navigation

Streeeeetch July 18, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in dinner, food.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Long time no post. Two reasons for that. One, this is the 100th post (confetti, please) and I thought I should maybe make it just a little special. Or at least mention it or something. Two, I’ve had a little week-long project going, as a kind of sub-whatever to the rather loose pantry project I still have on in the background.
As I probably mentioned before, I’ve gotten rather excited by Robyn’s stretchy bean and lentils and rice ideas so last week I decided to finally test it for myself.

Once again making good use of that 5l pan, I boiled me up those borlotti beans I’d had laying around for ages (after a nice bit of soaking, of course) and later on added some of the proper cook-for-45-minutes rice I’d had laying around for ages.
I also added an onion and some garlic, since that seemed like a nice addition and Robyn did it too.

I’m not sure, but I think cooking that large an amount of beans means some occasional stirring might be a good idea. While I cooked the beans for over two hours, there were still some that weren’t properly soft. My theory is they were on the bottom of the bean pile and therefore didn’t have as much access to the fluid, and stirring things up a bit might remedy that.
Will test this theory next time.

The things I made with this rice and bean food:

1. Rice and beans pretty much as they were, just with some spices and ketchup added. Eaten with a green salad. I made something similar to this a second time but I added the left-over tomato and some kale cubes and didn’t have any salad.

2. Some kind of chili-like food. Basically some rice and beans reheated with me adding spices, some of the sweet corn I froze earlier, and some tomatoes. Eaten with the rest of that green salad.

3. Soup. I’d saved the water in which I’d boiled the rice and beans and used that. I added some celery and carrots and spices. While tasty, it wasn’t as filling as I’d expected. Still, at this point my boyriend had arrived so we shared the (small) pan of soup. It’s not unusual for me to eat a whole pan of soup on my own, so it may just have been the amount that made it nt as filling as I’d expected.

4. Burgers. My first-ever attempt at making those myself. They turned out a little wetter and more fragile than I think they should’ve but they tasty nontheless. I added ketchup (a little too much, probably), some finely chopped onion, bread crumbs, some farina-like flakes, and some spices.
Served with potato-turnip mash, peas, and carrots.

5. Salad for eating on the train. I added some of the potato and peas I’d cooked earlier, some chopped celery, some spices, a fair bit of ketchup (I’m starting to wonder whether I can buy that stuff bulk), a few drops of liquid smoke, and some mustard.

I didn’t take too many pictures, and the ones of the second as-is dish were too horrible to post, so there’s just these two:

Burgers:
burgers

Salad:
salad

It was a lot of fun eating this way. Very convenient, too. You already have a base around which you can prepare your meals, and these ingredients are simple but incrediby versatile. While I won’t eat this every day, I can see this becoming a basic part of my diet, though I’ll probably also have times when I just cook up a lot of beans without the rice and do things with that. I just can’t see myself making rice hummus.
Also, except the burgers, all of these things ended up gluten-free without any conscious effort. And there should be a way to avoid having to use breadcrumbs and farina for the burgers, too.

Apart from being pleased with that 5l pan, I’m also very happy I decided to buy that container set at IKEA. Normally I resist buying more containers since I already have a good few I don’t use too regularly. Because of this I label the urges to buy I always get (but they’re so convenient…) when I spot nifty containers irrational and uneconomical and restrain myself.
Well, except that time at IKEA, but hey, when there, I also buy those biscuits. And the not-so-salty salty fish before MalacoLeaf started dating a beekeeper and added bivax to all of their products. Grrr…
Anyway, this container set contained some rather large containers that came in very useful in storing this stuff. And while a larger fridge, and, if you want to go extra stretchy, freezer, would be convenient, I did actually manage to fit it all in my limited space without having to kick out any of my other stuff. I’d worried some about whether I’d have the space to store it properly, but I needn’t have.

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 18, 2008

Welcome back!! :0)

I love rice & bean dishes!

2. tuimeltje - July 18, 2008

Thanks. :)

They’re s good! And so much more versatile than most people think.

3. Ari (Baking and Books) - July 20, 2008

Happy 100th post!!! Yay!!!!

4. tuimeltje - July 21, 2008

Thanks, Ari!

5. Lizzy - July 21, 2008

Happy 100th *throws confetti & chocolate chips*

I should make beans more often…

6. tuimeltje - July 22, 2008

Oooh, chocolate chips! Thanks! :)

Do it! It always seems like a bit of a hassle if you’re using dried ones, but you can keep them in the fridge for a few days at least, and in the freezer for a good while longer, so making a big batch at once totally works.
Provided you have a fridge and a freezer, of course.

7. sinead - July 22, 2008

yay on 100 posts!

I do the bean thing too, usually with chickpeas, but I find it often just leads to me snacking on chickpeas for days on end. I guess that’s not a bad thing. And I do love me some chickpeas.

8. tuimeltje - July 22, 2008

Thanks. :)

Chickpeas are indeed good and can be rather addictive. I can’t think of a reason why randomly snacking on that would be a bad thing (dentists may find one, though).


Leave a Reply

