jump to navigation

Linked August 5, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in breakfast, food.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I’m rock! Apparently. Which is why Sinead thought I should have this:

Brillant, eh?

I think I’m supposed to pass it on, so here goes.

Janet, because she writes in an informative and very accessible way about Chinese (Cantonese) food which makes me want to try and make some of those things.

Tofufreak‘s blog is making me want to do all kind of sweet things to beans, which makes me happy.

Bonnie and VeggieGirl because they make me want to bake things.

Renee, because she writes about gluten-free vegan things that are proper meals, not only the sweet treats.

To continue with the linkage, a most interesting list of red, white, or Swiss foods can be found here. While I enjoyed making and eating the müesli, it looks a little boring when compared to some of the things others made. There are some truly stunning things there.

Still, that doesn’t mean there’s anything wrong with müesli, does it? So I made it again. After all, I’ve had the oats for a while now and I’m still trying to do that pantry thing.
This time I used more oats and let them soak an entire night, which is supposed to be a good thing. And because it was meant for breakfast and I’m always rather rushed and unable to properly prioritise in the morning, I subbed a banana for the grated apple. I also added some cranberries. I had planned to use some dried coconut, but I couldn’t find it. I’m sure I still have some somewhere, though. Weird.

Picture:

While the fruit added was nice, I think I used too much water for the soaking. While it looked good, it tasted a little too diluted. I almost added some sweetener to it. Next time I’ll either soak it in less water or soak it in part water/part soyamilk. Maybe that’ll taste better.

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - August 5, 2008

Hooray for a blogging award!! And thanks for including me as well :0)

Ahh, so sorry that the oats didn’t taste as good as they look – better luck next time!

2. Tofufreak - August 6, 2008

thanks for the award! glad to know that you are enjoying beans!!!! hehehehe. they are quite spectacular.

good luck next time with your muesli!

3. Tuimeltje - August 7, 2008

@ VeggieGirl and Tofufreak: you both deserve it :)

4. janetching - August 12, 2008

Wow, I am thrilled to have a blog award and am glad you find my recipes approacheable, wanting to try is already a great step. Came back from holidays for a week and now need to gain the momentum to write something good. I now need to think of 7 blogs to nominate tomorrow. By the way, I am never made the Swiss museli myself, they do not look attractive to me but it’s very healthy.

5. my first blog award « Gourmet Traveller - August 13, 2008

[…] I was so surprised and thrilled to find out when Tuimeltje from Twigs and Tofu passed on the Brilliante Weblog Premio 2008 Award […]

6. tuimeltje - August 17, 2008

:) You deserve it.

I’m still not convinced on the müesli either, I think I’ll stick to oatmeal.

7. janetching - August 17, 2008

Hahaha! My mom thought me to eat oatmeal to keep fit but just cooking with water without other flavors is not so easy to tolerate. I used to have it everyday and have some bread for breakfast when I was in Hong Kong because I was lucky to have to made ready for me. Now I am rather lazy and have it occasionally as you can imagine it does not taste that good. Another option is to add some condensed milk to it but I am not fond of sweet stuff.

8. tuimeltje - August 17, 2008

It is supposed to be very healthy, yes. I usually make a microwave version, with soyamilk instead of water (much tastier) and some nuts and raisins in it. Quite good, but I was raised on Brinta (your husband will probably know what that is), so I’m used to that kind of thing.

9. my first blog award | Gourmet Traveller 88 - April 6, 2009

[…] I was so surprised and thrilled to find out when Tuimeltje from Twigs and Tofu passed on the Brilliante Weblog Premio 2008 Award […]


Leave a Reply

