jump to navigation

GF Log – Day 5 June 12, 2008

Posted by tuimeltje in food.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Gluten-free food log, day 5

Breakfast

  • A few strawberries and an apricot. I had intended to have some rice pops, but I was running a little late.
  • Lunch

  • Work fruit and veg again.
  • Dinner

  • Carrot-mungbean-ginger soup.
  • Snacks

  • A few strawberries.
  • Carrot sticks with hummus.
  • Nutty banana. I used Lizzy‘s idea and put on a dash of cinnamon. Brilliant.
  • The rest of that vanilla Yofu.
  • A small handful of raisins.
  • I only realised it today, but I think this kind of eating is doing something to the way I crave food. My food cravings were never particularly strange to me, pretty basic stuff. Like, I’d only just be done with dinner and still be feeling full but I’d already be thinking it’d be nice to have something else, just to nibble. Or I’d get me some biscuits and I’d be likely to eat the whole roll rather than stop after one or two. And I’d not especially enjoy it, either.
    Basically, if I had some easy snacky food around, I would eat it and I would want more, regardless of whether was actually enjoying it. And if there was more available, it would usually get eaten.
    These last few days, however, I felt done eating for a while after a meal. I had the occasional thought popping up about getting some snack, but that seemed to be more out of habit. It didn’t lead to me actually being interested in more food. Also, a few days ago I brought along some biscuits as a snack for on the train. It took no effort to save some for the journey back, and when I’d eaten them all I didn’t wish I had some more. It didn’t even take any thought. It wasn’t until this afternoon that I realised it.
    Food just hasn’t been on my mind as much, yet I’m very comfortably eating when I want.

    Today’s snacking was mostly due to dinner delay and felt like a more rational and calm (and less lazy) thing than the food cravings used to.

    By the way, someone found my blog by searching “gluten-free vegan daily plan”. While I keep this food log, I don’t actually have any kind of plan. However, over at Frugal Abundance, Maggie posted one (as a PDF file) a while back. It’s not vegan, but it’s gluten-free and casein-free and could probably be made vegan without too much effort. It has a lot of detailed information like a shopping list, recipes, and a work schedule.

    Comments»

    No comments yet — be the first.

    Leave a comment